Town of Cape Elizabeth
250<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Committee
Meeting Agenda
Tuesday, February 25, 2014
7:00 p.m.
2<sup>nd</sup> Floor Conference Room
Cape Elizabeth Town Hall

- 1. Welcome from Council Chairman Jessica Sullivan
- 2. Review of Committee Charge
- 3. Selection of a Committee Chair and Secretary
- 4. Brainstorming of Ideas for 250<sup>th</sup> Anniversary
- Public Outreach
- 6. Scheduling of Future Meetings

At their meeting June 10, 2013, the Town Council voted to establish the Cape Elizabeth 250th Anniversary Committee, with a charge "to provide leadership in celebrating the 250th anniversary of the incorporation of Cape Elizabeth." The charge is written broadly to provide independence to the committee in their review and in their deliberations.

At their meeting Dec. 9, 2013, town councilors appointed **Catherine Adams**, **Jane Beckwith**, **Carole Anne Jordan**, **Norman Jordan**, **Stephanie Korrup**, **Darren McLellan** and **Barbara Powers** to the ad hoc 250th Anniversary Committee. All terms are for two years, to expire Dec. 31, 2015. The Cape Elizabeth Historical Preservation Society suggested the Town appoint an ad hoc committee, as well as other <u>ideas</u> for marking the town's 250th anniversary.

Cape Elizabeth was incorporated by the General Court of Massachusetts on Nov. 1, 1765, establishing the town as a community separate from Falmouth, the name of the region that includes what is now Portland, South Portland, Falmouth, part of Westbrook and Cape Elizabeth. In 1895, the City of South Portland was incorporated and the remaining section of what was Cape Elizabeth from 1765 to 1895 retained the name "Cape Elizabeth." The year 2015, however, is the 250th anniversary of Cape's first incorporation.

The historic preservation society envisions using existing events and organizations to celebrate the anniversary. Ideas include tours of historic landmarks, a band concert at the gazebo at Fort Williams Park, and a possible "Harvest Ball" at the Town Hall.

## 250<sup>th</sup> ANNIVERSARY COMMITTEE Established 6/10/2013 (Appointed 12/9/2013 terms to expire 12/31/2015)

Catherine	Adams	15 Spoondrift Lane	catadams@hotmail.com	767-1909
Jane	Beckwith	13 Oakwood Road	None	799-0722
Carol Anne	Jordan	21 Wells Road	cajordan@jordansfarm.com	799-6529
Norman	Jordan	359 Ocean House Road	njordan1@maine.rr.com	799-5392
Stephanie	Korupp	26 Hunts Point Road	stephaniekorupp@gmail.com	799-2789
Darren	McLellan	35 Alewife Cove	dmclella@maine.rr.com	799-7910
Barbara	Powers	5 Fox Hill Road	bpowers@maine.rr.com	799-7875